Processing Your Payment

Please do not leave this page until complete. This can take a few moments.

August 21, 2017 Class of 2017

40 Under Forty: Dr. Milka Njoroge, PharmD.

Erika Sidor At the Kenneth F. Burns Memorial Bridge spanning Worcester and Shrewsbury at 40 Under Forty winners (from left) Maryann C. Johnson, Ryan A. Wagner, Dr. Milka Njoroge, PharmD. and Asmar N. Akman

Njoroge co-founded home healthcare provider Century in 2012. At the same time for the next three years, she worked as a clinical pharmacy specialist at UMass Memorial Medical Center, leading implementation of pharmacy-led initiatives, serving as director of the cardiology pharmacy specialty residency program and teaching pharmacy, nursing and medical students. Njoroge joined Century full time in 2015, initially as the chief clinical officer before transitioning to CEO. Century has grown from one employee to more than 350 in four locations, providing services to patients, mainly elderly patients and underserved communities.

What business person do you look up to? My mom. As a single woman raising five children, she ran multiple successful businesses to pay for our education. Her advice, “Provide quality service and respect your customers.”

Favorite piece of Central Mass. history? Mechanic’s Hall for its unique architecture and intriguing history. Its restoration in 1977 revived downtown.

Meet the other 40 Under Forty winners for 2017

Asmar N. Akman – Akman Enterprises Inc.

Brendan Aylward – Unified Health and Performance

Greta Bajrami Campoverde – Golden Group Construction Corp.

Kathryn Behan – UMass Memorial Healthcare

Heather Belair – Bay State Savings Bank

Neil Callahan – R.H. White Construction

Michelle L. Cote, Esq. – Law Offices of Richard S. Ravosa

Julianne Dahrooge – Chan & Dahrooge Financial Group, LLC

Patrick J. DiGregorio – Veterans Inc.

Justin Dufresne – VHB, Inc.

Courtney Ross Escobar – Doucette & LaRose, LLC

Robert Fecteau – BirchTree Bread Co.

Hilary Gardner – The Davis Cos.

Ashleigh C. Gelinas, Esq. – Gelinas & Ward, LLP

Avra Hoffman – BirchTree Bread Co.

Maryann C. Johnson – Oak Hill CDC

Kevin G. Johnson – O’Connor, Maloney & Company, P.C.

Heather Mangione – United Way of Central Massachusetts

Jay Merrill – Clifford & Rano Associates

Meghan E. Montaner – The Hanover Theatre for the Performing Arts

Edward Murphy – Baystate Investment Fund

Joy Rachelle Murrieta – Main IDEA

Jim Notaro – Fidelity Bank

Andrew B. Palumbo – Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Kevin Peterssen – United Bank

John T. Pitcavage – Endless Energy

Julia Randall, M.D. – Edward M. Kennedy Community Health Center

Keith Reardon – Commonwealth Consulting Group, LLC

Giselle Rivera-Flores – The Learning Hub & IgWorcesterMA

Patrick T. Royce – UniBank

Jamie Salois – Atlas Distributing

Lindiana Semidei – Raices Latin Dance

Jody Staruk – Consigli Construction Co., Inc.

Francisco Torres – Town of Westborough

Abel Travis – Hanover Insurance Group

Elizabeth Tripp – Hanover Insurance Group

Alexis G. Vallejos – Columbia Tech

David Viens – Bowditch & Dewey, LLP

Ryan A. Wagner – Robert Fine & Associates

Meet this year's judges

Sign up for Enews

WBJ Web Partners

Related Content


Order a PDF