Processing Your Payment

Please do not leave this page until complete. This can take a few moments.

April 16, 2015

Worcester Chamber announces business awards

Imperial Distributors, of Worcester and Auburn, is this year’s Richard B. Kennedy Business of the Year. It is one of several awards announced Wednesday by the Worcester Regional Chamber of Commerce, along with presenting sponsor Fidelity Bank.

Imperial Distributors, which handles supermarket non-foods distribution and merchandising services, has been in business since 1939. “Under President and CEO Michael Sleeper’s leadership, Imperial has made substantial contributions to the continued economic vitality of the region through community investment and service,” the Chamber said in the statement.

Others earning recognition include West Side Steak & BBQ, at 2A Richmond Ave., Worcester, which won Small Business of the Year.

Skyscope Creative on Jackson Street in Worcester is the Chamber’s Entrepreneur of the Year.

Percy’s TV and Appliance, Worcester, won the Family-Owned Business of the Year.

Jim Donoghue, owner of Tweed’s Pub in Worcester and a member of the Chamber’s board of directors, was tapped for Chamber Advocate of the Year.

The Silver Hammer Awards — acknowledging significant construction or rehabilitation projects — will be presented to three winners: SpencerBANK, for its rehabilitation of the former Fire & Telegraph Building on Park Avenue into a branch and a community room for public use; Winn Companies of Boston, for its restoration of the former Worcester Technical High School into market-rate housing known as the Voke Lofts; and Commerce Bank, Worcester, for its restoration of The Slater Building on Main Street.

In addition, the Joe Cohen Retailer of the Year will be awarded to Crompton Collective for growing business through innovative ideas, such as the addition of a farmer’s market and most recently, the addition of a unique event venue.

Maureen Raillo, president and CEO of WLimo, West Boylston, was chosen for the Chamber’s Ambassador of the Year award.

The award recipients will be honored at a ceremony beginning 4 p.m. May 14 at The Haven Country Club, 369 Cross St., Boylston. To register, visit Tickets are $15 for members and $35 for non-members.

Sign up for Enews

Related Content


Order a PDF