Processing Your Payment

Please do not leave this page until complete. This can take a few moments.

September 1, 2008

2008 40 Under Forty: Lisa Moorey

Lisa Moorey

Age: 39

Title: Actuarial Manager

Company: Commerce Insurance Co.

Company location: Webster

Residence: Whitinsville

Career highlights:

I am working as an actuarial manager at Commerce Insurance Co. I supervise three employees, and my team is primarily responsible for reviewing the adequacy of personal automobile and homeowners insurance rates in approximately 15 states. My actuarial career began when I started working at Hanover Insurance Co. in 1991 after graduating from WPI with a bachelor’s degree in mathematics. In 1998, I joined AIPSO before moving to Commerce in May 2007. I have been fortunate to have only terrific supervisors and am blessed with a wonderful family including my husband Jim, sons Tyler and Trevor, and parents Nena and Bill.

Community involvement:

Unfortunately, because of family and work responsibilities, I don’t have as much time to devote to volunteering as I would prefer. Currently, I am a member of the welcoming committee at St. Patrick’s Parish in Whitinsville. This committee meets once a month to prepare gift baskets for any new families joining the parish.

Biggest professional success?

My biggest success professionally was attaining my Fellowship in the Casualty Actuarial Society (FCAS) in 2002. Fellowship is the highest designation an actuary can obtain. It entails passing a series of extremely difficult exams that each requires approximately 400 hours of preparation. It took me 13 years to pass all 10 exams (14 exams counting sub-parts). Because of the significant amount of personal time required, I was very fortunate to have an extremely supportive husband.

Dream job?

My ultimate dream job is one where I could set my own hours and earn a large salary.

Businessperson you admire most:

The businessperson I most admire is Thomas L. Boyer II whom I report to at Commerce Insurance Co. He has taught me a great deal.

If you weren’t doing the job you’re doing know, what would you do?

I had originally planned to major in engineering, so I could picture myself in that career.

Favorite movie:

My favorite is “Sleepless in Seattle” (I love happy endings).

Sign up for Enews

WBJ Web Partners


Order a PDF